Is Biltong Gluten Free?

Posted by rich 26/05/2017 0 Comment(s)

We've been asked by a number of people who are gluten intolerant, if our biltong contains gluten. The short answer is yes, but in quantities so small it is safe to eat. 

Malt vinegar is made from barley which is a source of gluten. However, the fermentation process used to make the vinegar and the fact that a small quantity has been used in the preparation of the biltong means the amount of gluten present in our biltong is below the safe limit for coeliacs.

We also do not use any artifical preservatives or sugar in our biltong so it's pretty much as nature intended. 

You can read more about gluten and malt vinegar on the Coeliac UK website. 

Leave a Comment